Thank You!

I felt offended!

I met this cocky arrogant CEO guy last weekend. I told him I’m here in Shanghai to study fashion business and he asked me which school I’m going to. I told him IFA, and he started saying ‘oh why study fashion in Shanghai’.. ‘oh Parsons is definitely the best’.. blah blah blah. And I thought ‘GOD! I don’t wanna talk to this guy!’ Then after a while, he said to me in front of everyone, saying that I didn’t dress like a fashion student to him (fyi, I was wearing a white shirt with skinny jeans and flats). OH MY GOD THANK YOU. I was super embarrassed and MAD. It’s like a critical hit! And he couldn’t shut his mouth, he turned to my friend and said she’s not like a banker either. Then he came back to me, he just couldn’t stop, saying fashion people are like this and that…! I didn’t know what to say but I was fuming, I told him not everyone in the fashion industry is like what he thought and asked him to look at the fashion designers, a lot of them don’t dress up in the fashionista kind of style. Yeah I know this is lame, I just couldn’t think of what to say at that moment. My friends told me he’s no one and just don’t care about what he said. But it hurts. It hurts because he said something which I have always lacked confidence in. It hurts because I care too much about how people look at me. Sometimes I don’t even have the courage or confidence to tell people that I’m studying fashion business.

But, I have to thank him. He made me understand what fashion is to me. Fashion is very personal. It reflects your personality, it gives you confidence and it makes you happy. Sometimes (well actually most of the time, because I’m very lazy) I just feel like dressing down a bit, wearing shorts and flip-flops and with no make-up on. Of course to a certain extent, there are some kind of do’s & don’ts. But there is no definite answers to what fashion really is. He also made me realize how important self-confidence is. If I was confident enough, I would have told him how good I felt about myself and it’s not him to judge me. Or I should have said to him ‘Hmm you don’t look like a CEO either’ HA-HA! THANK YOU MR CEO.

Anyway, I’m going back home this Thursday, and I’m gonna bring back a suitcase of nice clothes and shoes and handbags. I’m not changing my style, I am who I am, I’m still gonna wear flip-flops a lot a lot. But I guess I’ll have to dress up more often to build up my confidence 🙂

Hope this entry would not be tooooo boring for you to read 😛 I was too pissed lol.

About tiffanytcm

Just an ordinary girl who studied accounting & finance (yeh..) and decided to switch to something more interesting - fashion (what a change!). Blogs are not new to me, but it's my very first time blogging. Hope to share with you what I like and what I don't like. Let me know what you think! Have fun looking at our blog from different perspectives :)
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Thank You!

  1. I can really relate to your emotions at this point. These ‘I-know-the-best-thing-to-do” people are more often an embarrassment by their very presence, even before they waggle their tongues. 🙂 So chill, and just be who you really are !! The best way, just scan him, I literally mean looking at him from head to toe and do the famous nose in the air turn or else just plain look elsewhere. It works well for me !!!

  2. Gina says:

    Also I like wear flip-flops. This is a personal preference. Just do what you like.

  3. In China many jerks are CEO, Senior Manager or Director… That means nothing! He s a small potato. Don t listen to him!

    have fun in HK & I like your blog!

  4. stingyfashion says:

    I think you are positive and open mined after reading this nasty experience. Just enjoy yourself is much important. 🙂

  5. Sabrina says:

    Hey Tiffany,

    thanks for this post! I could really feel during the presentation today – and also that I read it now again – how personal this is / was for you. I like the fact that you carry your heart like this. Yes, there might be people out there who could take advantage of this – unfortunately (!!) – but I wish there were more who are not afraid of sharing what affects them but also what makes them happy – really happy. It’s showing a part of who you are.
    And like I said today in regards to the ‘so himself called CEO’: Dogs that bark don’t bite!! 🙂
    Have a lovely evening!

    • tiffanytcm says:

      Thanks Sabrinaaaa!! Because of this experience, I realize how important confidence is. I’ve always lacked confidence and whenever people question or doubt me, I just couldn’t fight back or defend myself. Yeah so from now on, I’ll just have to embrace who I am! And of course, dogs that bark don’t bite 😛 You have a nice weekend, I’ll see you on mon 😉

Leave a Reply

